ss_blog_claim=fde2e39b34b61c1a1e48f162458d2841

Hound.com is a SCAM

by Mike on January 7, 2010

For almost a year now JobShouts has been working very hard at delivering value to our employers and job seekers. During this time, we have seen a lot of garbage masquerading as jobs. Heck let’s face it there is enough pond scum out there who will gladly take advantage of you, given the right opportunity.

We really have no experience with Hound in the traditional sense. We are not  job seekers. We don’t know or care what kind of jobs they have on their site. However, they have taken it upon themselves to post their jobs on our board – blatantly against our terms of service and AFTER repeated warnings. So many times in fact, that we now have nearly 1500 IP addresses banned from accessing jobshouts.com.

Can I say I just love how easy it is to ban an entire class C subnet with our firewall? Thanks Media Temple. :) You guys rock for including that.

Hound.com also operates as lawcrossing.com, employmentcrossing.com, and HRcrossing.com. They may have a hundred more websites. This geek couldn’t care less but your jobs are NOT welcome on our board. We will never allow that to happen. EVER.

This morning I was greeted with a link to the content above via Google Alerts. I have Alerts set up so that anytime someone mentions JobShouts by name or by URL I get a notice. This notice, I’ll admit, completely incensed me. I cannot really get my head around the fact that hound.com is willing to pay a freelancer to post positions from their site to our site. Are they for real? What the F?

My immediate reaction at first was to contact the shorttask.com team and inform them of this flagrant violation against our terms of service.

Then I sat back and thought about it for a minute. Now I am blogging it to the world. Let the crawlers and spiders find this content. Maybe a wary job-seeker will be wise and find this before parting with their money. JobShouts believes that job seekers should NOT be paying fees for access to jobs. That is just retarded, that is what is ruining the online job experience for seekers.

Sites like the ladders.com and hound.com and its affiliates are not helping anyone. Especially when all the jobs they list are also on the large aggregates as well. Don’t waste your time with them. We certainly won’t!

http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/digg_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/reddit_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/stumbleupon_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/delicious_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/technorati_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/google_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/myspace_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/facebook_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/twitter_48.png http://blog.jobshouts.com/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/meneame_48.png
  • Eokray
    Hi, my name is Erica, I am a recent grad and desperate to find a well paying job in chicago. I have been struggling and I truly believe like most people out there, it's not that I am lazy, I just do NOT know where to begin. I have no reliable source to apply through or to even find REAL AVAILABLE jobs through. I am so desperate and pathetic. I worked hard my whole like, have 100,000 in debts for my undergrad and am stuck being a bank teller. Am I just a moron? How do millions of people find success in Chicago and I get rereouted to terrible sites like HOUND.COM?? If anyone can give me any advice you would mae my dreams come true! Thanks
  • Guest
    Harrison Barnes is responsible for all the spiders invading all the job boards out there. He has an office in India running 24hrs doing just that. It is so absurd seeing all the B.S. Harrison puts out there as if the internet were a secret place where nothing is known... Newsflash Harrison everything and anything comes out!
  • Jennifer Bowen
    This guy is amazing! Thank you for sharing the information about ShortTask, we went and searched and found our client sites listed in there as well. Just an FYI Harrison Barnes owns and runs that site...must be his recruiting ground for his scammers.
blog comments powered by Disqus